Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Free Library of Philadelphia
Access approximately three million images that are rights-cleared for non-commercial, educational use and come from over 50 of the best collections in the world.
Philadelphia Historical Digital Image Library
The Philadelphia Historical Digital Image Library (PHDIL), is a collaborative effort between the Scott Memorial Library of Thomas Jefferson University and The Historical Society of Pennsylvania. PHDIL includes a variety of photographs, art work and portraits among its over 3,000 images.
American Memory: Historical Collections for the National Digital Library
Consists of more than 7 million digital items from more than 100 historical Library of Congress collections. The primary source and archival materials relating in the project cover topics from art and architecture to performing arts to technology and applied sciences.
DSC Image Service Collections
Provides 330,000 high resolution, zoom-able digital images in about a dozen image collections including the David Rumsey Historical Map Collection, the Farber Gravestone Collection, Hoover Institution Poster Collection. Cross-disciplinary coverage includes the arts, history, architecture, design, literature, city planning, anthropology, landscape architecture, archaeology, geography, cartography, gender, ethnic and area studies.
Provides open access to more than 15 million digital objects, including film material, photos, paintings, sounds, maps, manuscripts, books, newspapers and archival papers from more than 1500 European institutions.
A growing image database of medieval and renaissance manuscripts that unites scattered resources from many institutions into an international tool for teaching and scholarly research.
Jan T. Kozak Collection: Macroseismic Images of Historical Earthquakes
Contains 875 images of historical earthquakes. Images are accessible chronologically or by countries or region.
NYPL Digital Gallery | Home
NYPL Digital Gallery provides free and open access to over 700,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more.
Perseus Digital Library
A collection of more than 500 primary and secondary texts on the study of ancient Greece and Rome. Also includes images of vases, sculptures, buildings and other art and archaeological works.
Women Working - 1800–1930
Provides access to digitized historical, manuscript, and image collections. Explores women's roles in the US economy between the Civil War and the Great Depression. Documents working conditions, conditions in the home, costs of living, recreation, health and hygeine, conduct of life, policies and regulations governing the workplace, and social issues. When completed, the collections will contain more than 2200 books and pamphlets, 1000 photographs and 10,000 pages from manuscript collections.
EASE History is a rich online environment that supports the learning and teaching of US History. Hundreds of historical videos and photographs are currently available in EASE History.
Villanova's Digital Library
Villanova University's Digital Library initiative assembles, presents, and preserves digital collections that support the teaching and research of the campus and the global community of scholars.
New York City Municipal Archives Online Gallery
"The Online Gallery provides free and open research access to over 800,000 items digitized from the Municipal Archives’ collections, including photographs, maps, motion-pictures and audio recordings."--nyc.gov
Folger Shakespeare Library Digital Image Collection
80,000 images from the Folger Shakespeare Library's collection. Items include prints, costumes, portraits, and more.