Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Books about Africa
Warner has some great reference books on Africa! You can find them on the Main Level of the library. To find further resources, try searching the library's catalog.
Africana : the encyclopedia of the African and African American experience by
Call Number: REF DT14 .A37435 2005
Africana covers subjects ranging from affirmative action to zydeco and span over four million years. With entries ranging from the African ethnic groups to members of the Congressional Black Caucus, Africana, Second Edition, conveys the history and scope of cultural expression of people of African descent with depth (Amazon).
An African biographical dictionary by
Call Number: REF DT18 .B76 2006
Coverage is both historical and contemporary. Includes nations south of the Sahara and Indian Ocean island states. Covers political leaders, artists, businesspeople, religious leaders, scientists, and athletes. Several color maps show current national boundaries as well as colonial boundaries and original kingdoms (Booklist).
Encyclopedia of African history by
Call Number: REF DT20 .E53 2005
The Encyclopedia of African History is an A-Z reference resource on the history of the entire African continent. Has entries ranging from the earliest evolution of human beings in Africa to the beginning of the twenty-first century. Also includes 99 maps (Amazon).
African folklore: an encyclopedia by
Call Number: REF GR350 .A33 2004
African Folklore recognizes "significant historical and cultural experiences" shared among the wide variety of African cultures, including the diaspora. Sample topics include Dreams, Films on African folklore, Metallurgy and folklore, and articles on oral communication types like jokes, riddles, tongue twisters, call-and-response, songs, theater, and more (Booklist).
A History of theatre in Africa by
Call Number: PN2969 .H57 2004
This history of theater in Africa offers a comprehensive account of a long and varied chronicle. The coverage is geographically broad and includes an examination of the concepts of "history" and "theater" in Africa; North Africa; Francophone theatre; Anglophone West Africa; East Africa; Southern Africa; Lusophone African theatre; Mauritius and Reunion; as well as the African diaspora (Amazon).
The DVDs listed below are available in the library's Media Room, located on the library's upper level.
The scramble for Africa
Call Number: DT31 .S23 200U
The preliminary subjugation of northern Africa by the French and British, and the frantic efforts of latecomers such as Belgium, Germany, and Italy (Oregon State University).
Africa: challenges in the 21st century
Call Number: HN773.5 .A37 2004
Explores Africa's history and to what degree its colonial legacy continues to impact the continent, as well as causes, effects and possible solutions to major problems. Discusses how controversial international trade policies continue to contribute to Africa's underdevelopment (School Media Associates).
The African experience: from "Lucy" to "Mandela"
Call Number: DVD HIST WORLD VIC AFR V.1-6
These 36 half-hour lectures cover this great historical drama, tracing the story of the sub-Saharan region of the continent from the earliest evidence of human habitation to the latest challenges facing African nations in the 21 st century (Amazon).