Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Warner has access to a number of electronic book databases! The following links take you to them where you can search on a topic of your choice.
Atla Historical Monographs Collection: Series 1, 13th Century-1893 This link opens in a new window
Atla Historical Monographs Collection: Series 1 is an archive of religious and theological literature from the late 13th century through the 1893 World Parliament of Religions. The collection covers diverse religious topics and includes many volumes in Aramaic, Arabic, Greek and Hebrew.
Atla Historical Monographs Collection: Series 2, 1894-1922 This link opens in a new window
Atla Historical Monographs Collection: Series 2 is an archive of religious and theological literature from 1894 through 1922. It showcases the changing landscape of religion in America at the turn of the century, including the growing interest in non-Western religions.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Access to hundreds of in-depth subject encyclopedias and handbooks covering every major subject.
eBook collection in EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Search and view the full text of eBooks in EBSCOhost.
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
An ebook database with access to 150,000+ fulltext titles.
History Reference Center This link opens in a new window
"The database features full text for more than 1,620 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books from leading history publishers; full text for more than 150 leading history periodicals; nearly 57,000 historical documents; more than 77,000 biographies of historical figures; more than 37,000 historical photos and maps; and more than 80 hours of historical video."--EBSCOhost
PsycBooks This link opens in a new window
This database contains thousands of book chapters in PDF—along with centuries of classic and historical works—published by APA and other distinguished publishers.
Oxford Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford Scholarship Online (OSO) provides access to over 16,000 academic eBooks from Oxford University Press (OUP) on their University Press Scholarship Online platform.
SAGE Knowledge This link opens in a new window
Hosting thousands of titles, SAGE Knowledge includes an expansive range of SAGE eBook and eReference content - including scholarly monographs, reference works, and handbooks - making this the ultimate social science digital library for students, researchers, and faculty.
Note: The only sections available for EU students are "books" and "reference."
Selected Reference Books
Dictionary of the Sport and Exercise Sciences by
Call Number: GV558 .D53 1991
Publication Date: 1991-02-01
Intended to provide readers with clear, comprehensible, reliable, and up-to-date definitions of terms used by sport scientists, this work includes terms from adapted physical education, biomechanics, exercise physiology, motor control, motor development, motor learning, sport pedagogy, sport psychology, and sport sociology.
Dorland's Illustrated Medical Dictionary by
Call Number: R121 .D73 2003
Publication Date: 2011-05-02
Considered to be the premier medical language dictionary, this work, in electronic format, contains over 56,000 entries, over 2,000 images, and over 36,000 audio files.
Gale Encyclopedia of Fitness by
Call Number: CREDO Reference
Publication Date: 2012-05-24
"The Gale Encyclopedia Of Fitness covers 300 topics on physiology and fitness, including coverage of Healthy People 2010 / 2020, the nationwide initiative sponsored by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services to improve the nation's health, as well as topics on diseases and conditions related to fitness. It will round out our coverage of body systems and provide end users with information on preventative health topics. "
Encyclopedia of Sports Science by
Call Number: GV558 .E53 1997 V.1-2
Publication Date: 1905-06-01
This one-of-a-kind Encyclopedia presents physics in a refreshing new way -- by emphasizing the sports and not the science! Without the intimidating jargon, scientific information is cleverly interwoven with sports facts and stories. This balance between technical scientific information and interesting sports references makes the Encyclopedia accessible to readers of all types.
Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine by
Call Number: Gale Virtual Reference Library
Publication Date: 2011-06-07
The updated edition of this authoritative, comprehensive, in-depth medical guide features information on more than 1,700 medical topics in language accessible to adult laypersons. Disease/disorder articles typically cover definition; description; causes and symptoms; diagnosis; treatments; prevention; and more. Test/treatment articles typically cover definition; purposes; precautions; preparation; risks; normal and abnormal results; and much more. Biographical and historical sidebars appear throughout the text. This edition includes new entries, updated entries, approximately 650 color images and illustrations, and a comprehensive subject index. Previous edition also available.
Handbook of Sport Psychology by
Call Number: Ebscohost ebooks
Publication Date: 2004-03-15
Competitive sports demand as much discipline and training of the mind as they do of the body. Sport psychologists, coaches, and athletes are constantly searching for new and effective approaches to pain management, exercise psychology, building self confidence, and measuring progress.
The Human Body Book: An Illustrated Guide to Its Structure, Function and Disorders by
Call Number: Credo Reference
Publication Date: 2009-05-19
Revealing and detailing all aspects of the body, from the secrets of DNA to the functions of every major body system, this all-in-one encyclopedic guide in electronic format is packed with accessible health and medical information that is ideal for students, health professionals, or anyone who wants to learn more about the human body.
The Oxford Dictionary of Sports Science and Medicine by
Call Number: RC1206 .O94 2006
Publication Date: 2007-02-03
The Oxford Dictionary of Sports Science and Medicine provides comprehensive and authoritative definitions of nearly 8000 sports science and sports medicine terms. All major areas are covered, including exercise psychology, sports nutrition, biomechanics, anatomy, sports sociology, trainingprinciples and techniques and sports injury and rehabilitation The dictionary will be an invaluable aid to students, coaches, athletes and anyone wanting instant access to the scientific principles, anatomical structures, and physiological, sociological and psychological processes that affect sporting performance. It will also be of interest to the generalreader interested in sports science and medicine terminology.
Human Body Dynamics by
Call Number: NetLibrary
Publication Date: 1999-12-29
A quantitative approach to studying human biomechanics, presenting principles of classical mechanics using case studies involving human movement. Vector algebra and vector differentiation are used to describe the motion of objects and 3D motion mechanics are treated in depth. Diagrams and software-created sequences are used to illustrate human movement.
Practical Guide to Exercise Physiology by
Call Number: RA781 .M87 2016
Publication Date: 2016-02-22
Practical Guide to Exercise Physiology guides readers through the scientific concepts of exercise physiology with highly visual, easy-to-follow content. The text applies complex concepts of physiology to exercise program design, giving personal trainers, strength and conditioning specialists, and other health and fitness professionals an accessible resource to use with their clients. Written specifically for those in the fitness industry, the text covers various training goals and considerations when working with clients and athletes at all levels. This guide takes an application-based approach in describing intricate physiological processes so that professionals can select and explain the appropriate exercises and physical activity regimens for clients. The text is complemented by medical artwork that puts complex systems in a digestible visual context. These systems are then applied to real-world practice through explanations of exercises that are beneficial to specific body systems and instructions on combining various exercises to achieve the desired results.