Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Selected Reference Books
Anthropological Glossary by
Publication Date: 1985-07-01
Intended to be a compendium of technical terms in the field of anthropology as well as of data about peoples, languages, and cultures around the world.
Dictionary of Anthropology by
Publication Date: 1987-02-01
Intended for scholars and general readers alike, this work consists of substantial analytical articles focusing on key anthropological concepts, theories, methodologies and on founders and twentieth-century leaders of the discipline of Anthropology. Many of the articles come with references and recommendations for further reading and there is an extensive bibliography of some 3,000 entries at the end of the volume.
Dictionary of Concepts in Cultural Anthropology by
Publication Date: 1991-11-18
Entries in this work cover 80 key concepts in the field of Anthropology providing definition and current general usage, philosophical background and historical context, and theoretical developments. Each entry has cross-references, annotated references and sources for additional reading.
Dictionary of Concepts in Physical Anthropology by
Publication Date: 1991-08-30
This work provides an overview of the important concepts in the field of physical or biological anthropology. Entries give the current meaning of the concept and trace the concept's historical origins and development. Entries also include references to works mentioned as well as sources of additional information. There are cross-references as well as name and subject indexes.
Encyclopedia of Anthropology by
Publication Date: 1976-03-01
Intended for students as well as instructors, contains about 1,400 entries on the concepts, language, theories, and leading figures of Anthropology. Many articles contain brief bibliographies and there are a lot of illustrations.
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life by
Publication Date: 1997-12-01
Contains articles exploring the ways of life of over 500 culture groups worldwide. Arranged in four volumes by geographic regions, it focuses on the traditions, living conditions, and personalities of each culture group. Entries emphasize how people live today, rather than how they lived in the past. Entries include bibliographies and there is a glossary of terms and a comprehensive bibliography at the end of each volume.