Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Selected Reference Books
21st Century Sociology by
Call Number: HM585 .A13 2007 V.1-2
Publication Date: 2006-11-17
This two-volume work resents a comprehensive overview of modern sociology through an examination of the traditional and evolving subfields of the discipline, its speciality fields, and the phases of development in the history of sociological inquiry. Contains substantial articles by noted scholars with notes and references at the end of each volume.
The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Sociology by
Call Number: HM17 .C66 1994
Publication Date: 1994-06-16
Contains over 2,500 entries which offer international coverage of the terms, methods and concepts of sociology as well as biographical sketches of the major figures of the field. Designed to meet the needs of those new to the subject.
Encyclopedia of Community by
Call Number: HM756 .E53 2003 V.1-4
Publication Date: 2003-06-23
This four-volume work provides a comprehensive overview of the subject of community. and a wide variety of concepts and theories. The 500 entries cover a wide variety of concepts and theories and important terms are explained and there are entries for well-known individual communities throughout human history.
Encyclopedia of Social Theory by
Call Number: HM425 .E47 2005 V.1-2
Publication Date: 2004-08-19
Containing articles by a team of over 200 international scholars, this two-volume work covers the subject of social theory from its beginnings in the 18th century to the present. It covers a wide range of academic disciplines and perspectives including Sociology. It provides concise definitions of key concepts, ideas, schools, and figures in social theory as well as interpretative essays of theories and research within the field.
Encyclopedia of Sociology
Call Number: HM17 .E5 2000 V.1-5
Publication Date: 2000-11-16
This work is in four-volumes and contains 370 entries by scholars covering all aspects of the field of Sociology. Intended to be used by scholars and students alike, entries include bibliographies and there are cross-references and there is an index for all the volumes.
International Encyclopedia of Economic Sociology by
Call Number: HM35 .I565 2006
Publication Date: 2005-12-15
Comprehensive resource which gives an overview of the field of economic sociology, this work contains about 250 articles by more than 160 well-known experts on their topics. Articles have bibliographies, there is extensive cross-referencing with cross-references in bold within the texts of the articles, and the volume concludes with an index.
Max Weber by
Call Number: HM22 .G3 W4 1988
Publication Date: 1988-11-15
Of use for one doing research on this important figure in the history of Sociology, this volume includes chapters on Weber's life, his reception in Anglo-America, and archival materials available to researchers. The bulk of the volume, however, provides a list with brief annotations of the literature on Weber in English.
The volume also has name and author indexes.