Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Selected Reference Books
Dictionary of the Ancient Near East by
Publication Date: 2000-03-02
Intended to be a handy one-volume reference work accessible to anyone with an interest in the ancient Near East. Articles are accompanied by short bibliographies and there is a map, chronological chart, a list of kings, and index.
Encyclopedia Judaica by
Publication Date: 2006-12-12
Undoubtedly the leading reference work on the Jewish people, this 22 volume work contains a lot of information on the history of the Jewish people in the Middle East as well as the history of Israel.
Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa
Publication Date: 2004-06-01
Designed to be a ready reference tool and a compendium of knowledge about the Middle East since 1800, this four-volume work contains nearly four thousand articles by Middle East scholars on all aspects of Middle East history, culture and society. Includes illustrations, maps, geneology tables and an index.
Medieval Islamic Civilization by
Publication Date: 2005-11-01
Contains articles on all aspects of the history of Islamic civilization from roughly the sixth through seventeenth centuries. Articles are scholarly and written for the specialist and non-specialist alike and include cross-references and bibliographies and the work is thoroughly indexed.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt by
Publication Date: 2001-01-11
Published in 2001, this three-volume work gives a comprehensive overview of the history of the civilizaton of ancient Egypt from its beginnings through the Islamic conquest of 642 CE. Articles are intended for scholars, students, and general readers alike and include bibliographies and cross-references. There are illustrations and maps along with a synoptic outline of contents.
Political Dictionary of the Arab World by
Publication Date: 1987-01-01
Published in 1987, this work is a collection of articles on politics in the countries that make up the Arab world in the 20th century up to the mid-1980's.
Timelines of World History by
Publication Date: 2002-11-08
Divided into chronological periods beginning with the origins of humankind, each section features a sequence of timelines which create a vivid picture of what was happening simultaneously across the globe at any given time. The timelines are organized into geographic regions and are illustrated with contemporary images and supported by detailed introductory and map spreads.
Who's Who in the Ancient near East by
Publication Date: 1999-08-17
This new work offers over 300 A-Z entries on the people who shaped the history of the Near East between the First Dynasty of Kish in the 2500's B.C. and the end of the Selucid period in the 200's B.C. Readable yet authoritative mini-biographies bring to life some of the best-known events of the ancient world.
World History Atlas by
Publication Date: 2005-03-21
Combines a comprehensive global overview of world history with more detailed overviews of the history of each of the world's regions. Revised and updated to include recent archaeological discoveries and historical events, the World History Atlas is a wide-ranging portrait of world history, combining state-of-the-art cartography with historical information and detailed regional mapping.