Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Using Primary Sources on the Web
A brief guide developed by the Reference and User Services Association of the American Library Association designed to provide students, teachers and researchers with information to help them use and evaluate the quality of primary source materials that can be found on the web.
Online Discussion Groups
H-RUSSIA encourages scholarly discussion of Russian and Soviet history and makes available diverse bibliographical, research and teaching aids.
Alexander Palace Russian History Website
Educational and online books site on Romanov Russia. Includes photographs, books, letters, memoirs, secondary sources, etc.
Harvard Project on the Soviet Social System Online
Provides access to digitized materials selected from the Harvard Project on the Soviet Social System (HPSSS). The digital collection consists chiefly of summary transcripts of 705 interviews conducted with refugees from the USSR during the early years of the Cold War. A unique source for the study of Soviet society between 1917 and the mid-1940s.
History of Russia: Primary Documents
Provides a collection of links to Russian primary historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated.
Russia History Timeline
This interactive timeline, a companion to the PBS series The Face of Russia, traces the general chronology of Russian culture. Through ten centuries of art, architecture, music, dance and cinema, it reveals the major events that shaped Russian culture.
Russian and Soviet History Resources
A selection of Russian and Soviet history resource sites available on line.
Russian Archives Online
Features Russian archival collections of photographs and films, audio clips and transcripts from the 15 republics of the former Soviet Union.
Stalinka: Digital Library of Staliniana
Stalinka, a collection of visual materials and artifacts, is intended as an online resource for students, teachers, scholars, and anyone conducting research on Stalin/ism.
World Wide web Virtual Library: Russian History
An index to resources relating to Russian history.