Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Scince Daily Endangered Plant News
Botany online - The Internet Hypertextbook (International Edition)
Online textbook, interconnected by numerous links and is both a cross between a botanical encyclopedia and a hypertextbook on botany.
Home of the electronic version of "A Modern Herbal" by Maud Grieve, originally published in 1931.
Glossary of botanical terms in French and English
The glossary of botanical terms has more than 1,900 terms in English and French. While the list is certainly not complete, it does provides a sizeable number of terms to search through for some of the most commonly used words in botanical literature.
Internet Directory for Botany
Directory on gardening and plants, including some 4,000 botany related links- Librarian's Index to the Internet
ITIS Data Access
Focuses on the plants and animals of North America. Provides reliable information on species names and their hierarchical classification- Librarian's Index to the Internet
Noble Research Institute Plant Image Gallery
A searchable collection of images to assist with the identification of plants. Currently 600 species of vascular plants are available including those of grasses and grasslike plants; forbs; and trees, shrubs, and woody vines.
Vascular Plant Image Library
A repository of over 8,800 plant images developed and maintained by the TAMU-BWG, plus those made available by collaborators, is available for public use through the Vascular Plant Image Gallery.
US Department of Agriculture (USDA)
Provides leadership on food, agriculture, natural resources, rural development, nutrition, and related issues based on sound public policy, the best available science, and efficient management.
Scinece Daily Plant and Animal News