Skip to main content

A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
New
The Adams Matthew database is a unique opportunity to explore primary sources from across the disciplines. Humanities majors will find the original writings by icons in their discipline, but any researcher looking for the context of culture and how it may have impacted scientists, politicians, and consumers will find the information invaluable.

Available collections are indicated below:
New Trial
Artstor provides faculty and students with a complete image resource in a wide array of subjects with the breadth and depth to add context beyond the confines of your discipline.
  • Open Access databases provide unrestricted access to and use of peer-reviewed and non peer-reviewed journal articles, books, dissertations, and more. Click the icon to learn more.
New
Archival Resources for Catholic Collections (ARCC) is an organization committed to preserving the legacy of Catholic women and men religious who created educational, charitable, and medical infrastructures in the United States and Canada. By providing a space for collaboration, education and advocacy, ARCC’s mission is to assist Catholic religious communities looking to secure a permanent record of their spiritual lives and corporeal work. Our vision is to assist and support both women’s and men’s religious communities primarily in the following ways:
-Synthesize and present as an integrated whole the unique perspectives of Catholic religious leaders, archivists, and scholars to provide communities struggling with their archives reliable professional advice on how to best care for their records.
-Provide robust educational opportunities for archives, archivists, and related personnel to assist with the development of professional run archives.
-Focus primarily on US and Canadian based communities with an eye to international implications and cooperation as the North American Catholic Church is inextricably tied to the global Church.
-Provide a centralized forum for knowledge and resource sharing and facilitated discussion through this website.
New
Covering all areas of criminal justice, Criminal Justice Abstracts includes hundreds of thousands of records and provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for hundreds of journals. Other features include searchable cited references and a publications authority of key titles. This database was previously provided by Sage Publications.
New Trial
HeinOnline Academic includes more than 100 million pages of multidisciplinary content in more than 100 subject areas, including history, political science, criminal justice, religious studies, international relations, women’s studies, pre-law, and many more. With more historical content than any other database, HeinOnline provides access to 300+ years of information on political development and the complete history of the creation of government and legal systems around the world. Among the many databases included, HeinOnline’s journal collection features nearly 2,800 periodicals relating to a variety of subject areas, with all coverage dating from inception to the most currently published issues in most cases.
New
Oxford Scholarship Online (OSO) provides access to over 16,000 academic eBooks from Oxford University Press (OUP) on their University Press Scholarship Online platform.
  • Open Access databases provide unrestricted access to and use of peer-reviewed and non peer-reviewed journal articles, books, dissertations, and more. Click the icon to learn more.
New
PLOS publishes a suite of influential Open Access journals across all areas of science and medicine. Rigorously reported, peer reviewed and immediately available without restrictions, promoting the widest readership and impact possible.

Including:
-PLOS ONE
-PLOS Biology
-PLOS Medicine
-PLOS Computational Biology
-PLOS Genetics
-PLOS Neglected Tropical Diseases
-PLOS Pathogens
New
SciFinderⁿ provides access to the world’s most comprehensive and reliable collection of scientific research information. A global network of expert scientists curate and aggregate the world’s scientific patent and journal content daily and make it fully discoverable through the advanced technology contained in SciFinderⁿ. This ensures researchers have the most current and accurate substance, reaction, reference and commercial sourcing information available to quickly and confidently inform your critical research activities.
New Trial
Gain deep insights into any location of interest through thousands of data variables and stunning visualizations. Reinforce your decisions with Social Explorer’s reliable data mapping capabilities.
New
Academic film streaming to enhance your learning experience. Faculty and staff will need to create an instructor's login in order to select a film. To make a film available for your courses, post the direct link in your Brightspace courses.

Faculty, please contact Chelsea Post (cpost@eastern.edu) to request films for your coursework or if you have any questions.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...