LibGuides: Teaching ESL: Home

Databases: ESL Education

Here is a list of subscription databases the library offers that contain information about this topic.

To access these, you will be prompted to sign-in using your Eastern login (this is the same as your Brightspace and Eastern email logins).

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
"More than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc."--EBSCOhost
ERIC This link opens in a new window
This resource contains more than a million records and links to hundreds of thousands of full-text documents from ERIC back to 1966.
Image Quest This link opens in a new window
Access approximately three million images that are rights-cleared for non-commercial, educational use and come from over 50 of the best collections in the world.
MAS Ultra - School Edition This link opens in a new window
Contains full text for hundreds of popular high school magazines covering a wide-range of subject areas including history, science, careers and much more.
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes full text for more than 500 high-quality education journals.
PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 178,000 articles, content from more than 100 journals, and coverage spans 1894 to present from highly-cited and landmark journals published by the APA, its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations.
Education Week Online This link opens in a new window
An independent news organization that provides comprehensive coverage on K-12 education news, analysis, and opinion. We believe that an excellent education is possible for all students and our mission is to inspire and empower our readers to continue advancing the field every day.
Teaching Channel Video Library This link opens in a new window
Teaching Channel is a thriving online community where teachers can watch, share, and learn diverse techniques to help every student grow.
Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA) This link opens in a new window
Designed to meet the information needs of the caring professions, and spans the literature of health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education. The database abstracts and indexes over 500 journals, from more than 16 countries.
SAGE Premier This link opens in a new window
A collection of over 1,000 of the highly regarded Sage Journals, covering a variety of disciplines.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista is one of the world’s largest statistics portals (1.5million statistics). Access infographs, forecasts, charts/graphs, and 2,500 exclusive Dossiers and industry reports (NAICS codes).
Academic Video Online (AVON) This link opens in a new window
AVON contains more than 66,500 titles across all disciplines, all cross-searchable, making it a one-stop, multidisciplinary solution for libraries. More materials are added monthly—ensuring that it stays current.
New York Times in Education This link opens in a new window
Complimentary site to NYT.com. Provides curriculum and classroom prompts, helping educators integrate The New York Times into the classroom. Learn about account setup- http://libguides.eastern.edu/nytaccess
PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health, with ninety-nine percent of the covered material peer-reviewed.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
The Sociological Abstracts database abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts for 280 peer-reviewed journals on the following topics: Assessment, Best Practices, Continuing Education, Current Pedagogical Research, Curriculum Development, Elementary Education, Higher Education, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, School Administration, Science & Mathematics, and Teacher Education.

Teaching ESL

Welcome to the Teaching ESL resources guide!

This guide acts as a starting point for your research. Consult it to learn where to find books, articles, journals, databases, and other information resources.

How to use this Guide:
Located on the tabs are different types of resources- Books, Journals, Websites, etc. Click on the tab to find resources about ESL education in that format.

If you need help with your research you can send me an instant message (see box on the right), an email, or come by my office. I am happy to help!

Reference Databases

Reference databases provide contextual information about all different topics.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
"a digital reference library that places a world of factual information at your fingertips."
Encyclopedia Britannica This link opens in a new window
Contains electronic version of Britannica's encyclopedias, plus web periodicals, websites and other information.

Systems Librarian

Chelsea Post

Email Me

Contact:

610-255-5003

EU's B.A. in Elementary Education

To learn more about obtaining a B.A. in Elementary Education or secondary education with a certification in teaching English as a second language (K-12), click on the link below.

Certification in English as a Second Language (ESL) (K-12)

Teaching ESL: Home

Databases: ESL Education

Teaching ESL

Welcome to the Teaching ESL resources guide!

Reference Databases

Systems Librarian

EU's B.A. in Elementary Education

About the Library

Using the Library

Interlibrary Services

Warner Memorial Library