Research Strategies & InsightsSearching "How-to" VideosWeb Searching Tips
This is the "Home" page of the "Historiography" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Historiography  

Start your exploration of historiography here!
Last Updated: Apr 26, 2012 URL: http://libguides.eastern.edu/historiography Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Definition

/hĭ-stôrˈē-ŏgˈrə-fē/ -noun

"the writing of history; especially: the writing of history based on the

  • critical examination of sources,
  • the selection of particulars from the authentic materials,
  • and the synthesis of particulars into a narrative that will stand the test of critical methods."

(Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary)

 

Schools of Historiography

  • Annales School
  • Precepts
  • Big history
  • Cliometrics
  • Comparative history
  • Counterfactual history
  • Critical historiography
  • Cultural history
  • Cyclical and linear history
  • Deconstruction
  • Diplomatic history
  • Economic history
  • Great man history
  • Historical materialism
  • History from below
  • Marxist historiography
  • Metahistory
  • Microhistory
  • History as Propaganda
  • Revisionism
  • Quantitative history
 

Welcome to the Historiography Guide!

Welcome to the Historiography Guide. Here you will find general information on how to locate sources related to the study of history. 

How to use this Guide:
Located on the tabs are different resources- books, journals, websites, etc. Click on a tab and a page appears listing specific resources about historiography in that format. For example, under the "Find Books" tab is a list of books located here in Warner Library about historiography. For specific historical topics, please check out these guides.

Databases

Here is a list of subscription databases the library offers that contain information about historiography. If you wish to access any of these from off-campus, you must sign into MyAthens.

  • Arts & Humanities Citation Index  
      
    Provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information and cited references found in nearly 1,130 of the world's leading arts & humanities journals.
  • Image Quest
    Search through over 2 million photographs from 53 collections like Getty Images, Corbis, and the National Geographic Society.
  • JSTOR
    Contains full-text articles from a variety of scholarly journal back-issues.
  • World History Collection  
      
    Offers a global look at history with content from Africa, Asia, North and South America, Europe and the Middle East. Contains cover-to-cover full text for nearly 150 titles, including many peer-reviewed journals.
 

History Guides

Your Librarian

Profile Image
Andrea Reed
Logo - FacebookLogo - Google TalkLogo - SkypeLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
Media & Digital Services Librarian
Rm. 302 -- Upper Level
Warner Memorial Library
Eastern University
St. Davids, PA 19087

(610) 225-5004
Send Email
Become a fan of Warner Library!:

Facebook

 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip