Make sure to use the various filters to narrow down your results list when searching!
By using filters such as Date Range to select the previous 5 years of results, or Source type to look at only academic journals, you can make a thousand-plus results list into something more manageable, thus giving you more time to analyze your results.
Eagle Search includes many, many resources, but not everything Warner Library subscribes to. See below for the exceptions.
|
Subscription Databases
Citation Information
News Databases
Open Access Databases |
WHAT IS EAGLE SEARCH?
Eagle Search is a discovery tool that is almost like Googling! A single search in Eagle Search can return records from most of our subscription databases, as well as our book and media catalog. It can be related to Google Scholar, though Eagle Search has many advantages over Google Scholar. It is a library search engine that includes full-text materials for:
Comprehensive searches on a topic require using subject-specific databases.
Vague or short searches will return too many results; searches using well-refined search terms or phrases in quotes will return fewer, more refined results.
Acknowledgements Used under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License from Virginia Tech Libraries.
Research Starters, encyclopedic entries created by EBSCO, may appear for general topic searches, which can be accessed for summary information. Think Wikipedia, but better!
My Dashboard is where you can organize your research into separate folders and view recently-seen items and searches to save for future use. This is also where you can see any ebooks you have downloaded or "checked out" from the system.
Finally, underneath Research tools is where you can start a fresh search in "General search," look at an A to Z list of journal titles and ebooks in "Publications," and see a visual diagram of your search and related topics in "Concept map."
