Skip to main content

Citing in APA Format: Doctoral Dissertations / Theses

This guide will assist you in citing electronic and print resources. Each tab will indicate the type of resource and how to cite.

DOCTORAL DISSERTATION

You can find doctoral dissertations and master’s theses from various subscription databases, institutional archives, and personal websites.When you use one of these documents from the ProQuest Dissertations and Theses or a similar source, include this information in the reference.

General Reference Formats

Doctoral dissertation or master’s thesis retrieved from a database service


Author, A. A. (year). Title of doctoral dissertation or master’s thesis (Doctoral dissertation or master’s thesis).

           Retrieved from Name of Database. (Accession or Order No.)


Author, A. A. (year). Title of doctoral dissertation or master’s thesis (Doctoral dissertation or master’s thesis).

           Retrieved from http://xxxxx


Unpublished dissertation or master’s thesis

Author, A. A. (year). Title of doctoral dissertation or master’s thesis (Unpublished doctoral dissertation or master’s

            thesis). Retrieved from http://xxxxx


Formatting

  • Italicize the title of a doctoral dissertation or master’s thesis.
  • Identify the work as a doctoral dissertation or master’s thesis in parentheses after the title.
  • Either the name of the database and the accession number or the URL of the dissertation or thesis is acceptable in the retrieval statement.
     

Master’s thesis, from a commercial database

McNiel, D. S. (2006). Meaning through narrative: A personal narrative discussing growing up with an alcoholic mother

           (Master’s thesis). Available from ProQuest Dissertations and Theses database. (UMI No. 1434728)


Doctoral dissertation, from an institutional database

Adams, R. J. (1973). Building a foundation for evaluation of instruction in higher education and continuing education

           (Doctoral dissertation). Retrieved from http://www.ohiolink.edu/etd/


Doctoral dissertation, from the web

Bruckman, A. (1997). MOOSE Crossing: Construction, community, and learning in a networked virtual world for kids

            (Doctoral dissertation, Massachusetts Institute of Technology). Retrieved from http://www.cc.gatech.edu

            /~asb/thesis/
 

If a dissertation was completed at one school but is now hosted on the server of another school, add the name of the originating university in parentheses to clarify its origin.
 

APA Style Guide to Electronic References, #38-40; p 23.

Your Librarian

Joy Dlugosz's picture
Joy Dlugosz
Contact:
Librarian for Public Service, Administration & Research

Warner Memorial Library
1300 Eagle Road
St. Davids, PA 19087
610-225-5660