Articles from Print Journals
Journal Paginated by Issue:
Author. (Publication Date). Title of article. Journal title, Volume(issue), page range.
Journal Paginated by Volume:
Author. (Publication Date). Title of article. Journal title, Volume, page range.
Jacoby, W. G. (1994). Public attitudes toward government spending. American Journal of Political Science, 38(2), 336-361.
The general format for an article is shown here. The doi (which is an add-on) may be required by your professor. Also a url might be required. See below.
Always remember to indent the line after the first line of the entry.
Here is the text layout for general format (including doi or url):
Author, A. A., Author, B. B., & Author, C. C. (year). Title of article. Title of Periodical, xx, pp–pp. http://dx.doi.org/xxxxx
Author, A. A., Author, B. B., & Author, C. C. (year). Title of article. Title of Periodical,xx, pp–pp. Retrieved from http://xxxxx
Article from subscription database (give the URL for the publisher of the information, OR the database that you retrieved it from).
Demos, T. (2009, August 17). Argentina's cattle crisis. Fortune, 160(3), 22. Available from http://www.fortune.com/
Valdes, C. (2006). Brazil's booming agriculture faces obstacles. Amber Waves, 4(5), 28-35. Retrieved
Article from open access source (include the exact URL for the article)
Badke, W. (2008). A rationale for information literacy as a credit-bearing discipline. Journal of Information Literacy, 2(1).
Retrieved from http://jil.lboro.ac.uk/ojs/index.php/JIL/article/view/RA-V2-I1-2008-1
Morio, H., & Buchholz, C. (2008). How anonymous are you online? Examining online social behaviors
from a cross-cultural perspective. AI & Society, 23(2), 297-307.
Journal article with DOI of eight or more authors:
Schwartz, S. J., Weisskirch, R. S., Hurley, E. A., Zamboanga, B. L., Park, I. J. K., Kim, S. Y., . . .
Greene, A. D. (2010). Communalism, familism, and filial piety: Are they birds of a collectivist
feather? Cultural Diversity and Ethnic Minority Psychology, 16, 548–560.
When a reference has one to seven authors, spell out all authors’ names in the reference list. When a reference has eight or more authors, list the first six, insert an ellipsis, and then provide the name of the final author. Authors are generally listed in order of contribution to the research, but the last author can also be a contributor of distinction, often the principal investigator (see section 6.27 of the Publication Manual).
Citing In Text:
In text, for studies with one to five authors, spell out all author names on first use; subsequent citations can abbreviate to first author name plus et al. For studies with six or more authors, abbreviate to the first author name plus et al. for all citations:
Journal article with DOI, reprinted from another source, translated
Piaget, J. (1972). Intellectual evolution from adolescence to adulthood (J. Bliss & H. Furth, Trans.).
Human Development, 15, 1–120. (Original work published 1970)
If you read a translated version of an article, provide translator information in the format “A. Translator, Trans.” in parentheses after the title.
Citing in Text: In text, cite the original publication date and the date of the translation (Piaget, 1970/1972).
Journal Article without DOI:
Jacobsen, W.C. & Forste, R. (2011). The Wired Generation: Academic and Social Outcomes of
Electronic Media Use Among University Students. CyberPsychology, Behavior & Social
Networking, 14(5). Retrieved from Academic Search Premier.
Based upon the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 6th edition, sections 6.31 and 7.01, and the APA Style Guide to Electronic References.
An Abstract as original source
Lassen, S. R., Steele, M. M., & Sailor, W. (2006). The relationship of school-wide positive behavior support to academic
achievement in an urban middle school. Psychology in the Schools, 43, 701–712.
Abstract retrieved from http://www.interscience.wiley.com
Although it is preferable to cite the full text of an article, abstracts can be used as sources and included in the reference list if the full text is not available.
An Abstract as secondary source
Hare, L. R., & O’Neill, K. (2000). Effectiveness and efficiency in small academic peer groups. Small Group Research, 31,
24–53. Abstract retrieved from Sociological Abstracts database. (Accession No. 200010185)
Although it is preferable to cite the full text of an article, abstracts can be used as sources and included in the reference list. The term secondary source refers to abstracts, article summaries, book reviews, and so forth, that are derived from
primary sources (e.g., journal articles and books), often by someone other than the original author(s). In scholarly research, it is preferable to read and cite primary sources.
Database names and abstract identifiers (if applicable) may be given for material of limited circulation.