LibGuides: COM304: Family Communication Resources: Sex Education

Databases

Here is a list of subscription databases the library offers that contain information about marriage & divorce.

To access these, you will be prompted to sign-in using your Eastern login.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
"More than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc."--EBSCOhost
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
An ebook database with access to 150,000+ fulltext titles.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
This resource contains more than a million records and links to hundreds of thousands of full-text documents from ERIC back to 1966.
World News Research Collection (Newsbank) This link opens in a new window
Find global information on topics related to business and economics, careers, criminal justice, environmental studies, health, international studies, performing and fine arts, political science, social issues, sports, STEM and more from a variety of news media featuring newspapers, videos and web-only content including the Philadelphia Inquirer, USA Today and international sources.
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Contains Dissertations & Theses, Ethnic News Watch, Gender Watch, ERIC, Sociological Abstracts and Social Services Abstracts, ProQuest Sociology full-text databases and more.
PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health, with ninety-nine percent of the covered material peer-reviewed.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
The Sociological Abstracts database abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.

Websites

Advocates for Youth
Established in 1980 as the Center for Population Options, Advocates for Youth champions efforts to help young people make informed and responsible decisions about their reproductive and sexual health.
American Civil Liberties Union: Sex Education
Through legislation and public education the ACLU is working the ensure that every public school in America offers age appropriate K-12 sexuality education programming that gives young people the information they need to lead healthy and fulfilling lives.
Ascend
Ascend is the nation's leader in the Sexual Risk Avoidance field. For over a decade, we have helped thousands of America's youth make smart, forward-thinking choices about their sexual behavior.
National Conference of State Legislatures: Sex Education & the States
State Policies on Sex Education in Schools
Religious Institute
The Religious Institute is a multifaith organization dedicated to advocating for sexual health, education, and justice in faith communities and society.
Sex Education in America : NPR
An NPR/Kaiser/Kennedy School Poll

Books

To access this, you will be prompted to sign-in using your Eastern login (this is the same as your Brightspace and Eastern email logins).

Condom Nation: The U.S. Government's Sex Education Campaign from World War I to the Internet by Alexandra Lord
ISBN: 0801893801
Publication Date: 2009
Risky Lessons: Sex Education and Social Inequality by Jessica Fields
ISBN: 9780813543345
Publication Date: 2008-06-03

COM304: Family Communication Resources: Sex Education

Databases

Websites

Books

About the Library

Using the Library

Interlibrary Services

Warner Memorial Library